top of page

Taken Back Home For The Holidays Season ❄

Welcome Back Everyone! Here’s the last Christmas story of the year, enjoy.


Imagine being taken back home for Christmas by your southern sweet talking boyfriend to see his family and enjoy the holiday season. Well that’s exactly what happened to Lisa Lane this holiday season, visiting her boyfriend Clark Kent. You heard me right, Superman is her boyfriend.


A little backstory, Lisa grew up in Smallville, dealing with the cold winters, hot summers and the everyday problems of high school while becoming best friends with Clark Kent during the whole time. Always visiting the Kent family over the weekend, hanging out with her friends but Lisa was always one to want more. This resulted in her dream of going to Metropolis and becoming a news reporter there.

So after her fourth year of high school, she went to Smallville Collage while trying to get hired by The Daily Planet, which she finally got a trial internship for after her second year of trying to stand out of the crowd. During that same year her boss, Perry White, announced that he wanted an article on something new and exciting happening in the city and Lisa took on the challenge.

A few days later while on her way to work, a flash of wind blew past her as she whipped her head to the distraction of the bolting speed and her eyes widened in shock seeing a speeding blur in a cape helping a bank robbery. She couldn’t catch his face but was able to catch the action taking place snapping a few pictures. So as one could imagine she showed the pictures to her boss and he gave her the stamp of approval. She went to write the story with a cheeky smirk on her face glancing over at her cousin Lois who rolled her eyes chuckling. Within the next few months, it was story after story on the blur who became the man in blue.


Until one day Lisa on the verge of writing a story that she titled ‘The Voice Of The Man In Blue’ trying to get a better catch of the action during a break robbery, Lisa dragged by a robber who used her a was to draw in the superhero, in a speeding move appeared the superhero in front of him with his arms crossed.

“Care to step outside and let her go..?” Asked the man in blue in a serious tone. And that was when Lisa saw the face of the man she has been writing about for the last few months as she hid her smile. Dark brown hair with a curl framing his face, dark blue eyes that you can get lost in and a ‘S’ on his chest. Those were the words she used in her article that night.

“What are you gonna do if I don't?” Asked the man holding her hostage but didn’t get time to say another word as the superheroes laser vision bolted near him as the hero flew past him about to knock him as he turned pale, “..oh shit.”


Lisa was dropped on the ground as the scene took place right in front of her eyes. The man wearing un ‘S’ punches the guy out like it was nothing and flies to fight any other robbers coming into the bank that night. Lisa stood up watching it all happen taking mental notes of her article for later then within a second to spear the man in blue flew in front of her with a worried look asking, “Are you alright miss..?”

“L-Lane. Lisa Lane.” She replied giving her name instead of answering his question, as if she was out of breath from seeing the man, “May I have a word?”

“Of course. Is there anything I can do for you? A trip to the hospital? I can take you home.”

“No, I'm completely fine. What’s your name? As in a title that can be given.”


The blur looked around for a second then gently looped his arms around her waist flying up to the roof of a building as if it was nothing. He set her down gently, giving her a warm smile as she was about to get a better look at him, in the skylight of the sun returning the smile.

“Sorry for the flying, I’ve seen your work miss Lane. Very kind words, you speak of me as a hero.” He said simply.

“Because that’s what you are, or at least that’s what I see.” She replied, “Again, what title can I add to your line of names given?”

“You’ve called me The Blur, The Man In Blue..and you counted the term ‘Faster than a speeding bullet’ for me.”

She thought for a second, taking in the look of his suit in full action and smirked, nodding as she said, “Superman.”

“Excuse me?” He chuckled a bit then looked at his costume, “It’s not a ‘S’, it’s the symbol for the House of El.”

“Well here, it’s technically an ‘S’, so Superman it is.”

 

The now named, Superman, laughed and nodded at the new name given to his superhero title recognizing her a bit more in the light of the sun. Miss Lane, was known as little Lisa Lane back in Smallville, not Miss Lane the Daily Planet reporter. He felt proud of her and even found her beautiful seeing the girl he once knew as his best friend.

The pair talked about his journey into becoming Superman and the reason why he decided to dawn the cape in the first place. Neither one of them used their real names or anything during the conversion but one can imagine that the whole discussion made front page news the next morning. Lois teased her cousin at the new paper on the superhero even saying that she has a crush on the hero and to which Lisa commented that even the chief had a crush on the hero.

Time passed as Clark Kent made his appearance at the Daily Planet to get a job while also getting a better view of the city as the new tall tale hero of the world. Lisa was the first one to greet him and make him feel at home at his new work space as the two of them rekindled their friendship.

Spending time together, working on articles and even going to lunch dates every now and then. Every now and then, when Clark took off his glasses to rub his eyes or was dressed a certain way, Lisa's gears began to work connecting a few dots. Asking herself if Superman and Clark Kent are the same person? The gentle smile, dark hair, the blue eyes and the respectful attitude that both men showed took her by surprise.


With time Lisa started to get a feeling for her friend and so did Clark trying to find the time to spend as much time together as possible. Laughing and sharing ideas like two kids working on a fun school project. However everytime they got to a place where they could probably confess or get into a deeper conversion, Clark’s time as Superman stopped the whole process, and Lisa wrote an article based on the amazing hero every time it happened.

Until one night Perry White decided he wanted a story on Superman that wasn’t an article about him saving a plane but a conversion between him and the female reporter. So in result, that same night she stopped short on a rooftop of a building waiting for the hero to make his appearance as a gust of wind blew past her while a smirk appeared on her face.

“Hey Superman.” She said simply, “It’s been a while, hasn't it?”

“Yes it has Miss Lane, a few months or even weeks since we last saw each other. But who’s counting?” He replied joking around.

“It seemed like somebody missed me.”

“And it seems like you missed me.”


She blushed a bit at the comment but kept her professional smile saying, “I guess you can say that, yes I have.”

“Is there anything I can do for the second best reporter in the city?” He asked, giving his classic charming smile.

“My boss wants an article knowing more about you, a causal conversion..and so do I. So where did you grow up?”


He stayed quiet for a moment determining whether to tell her or not then he spoke up, “I really like you Miss Lane, so I will tell you. I grew up in Smallville, a family adopted me while I was just a child after my planet was destroyed.”

“Smallville? As in Smallville, Kansas?” She said, sounding a bit surprised wondering if her suspicions were corrected about both Superman and Clark being the same person, “I grew up in Smallville, I'm surprised I never saw you before.”

“You must have seen it before, I was a nice kid who grew up on a farm with his adopted parents who took care of me. They called me their golden boy, since they saw me as a great kid.”

“Well when your kid has superpowers, I'm guessing any parent would be happy and proud of the amazing things they can do. They must be proud.”

“They are. I’ve travelled around the world and visited many places as I grew up to become who I am today. I've met a lot of people, who shaped me into who I am.”


Lisa wrote in her notebook looking up at him every now and then asking, “And who may those people be? If you can name a few.”

“My parents, my friends and even you.” He said simply smiling at her with the biggest warm smile he can give.


She stopped what she was writing when she heard him and blushed a bit, biting her bottom lip trying not to keep grinning too hard but couldn’t help the smile keeping on her lips. “Me? I’m just a reporter?”

“But you're also the person who gave me my voice and helped me show the world who I am with the first article you put out. I have you to thank for giving me that chance.” Clark said clearly meaning it from the heart while he spoke as Superman. He had to be honest with himself, she has always been the one who inspired him.

“Really? That’s too kind. Is there anything else you want to say for me or-or the article per say? I’m all ears.”

 

They both secretly knew what she meant. Yes it’s a short conversion but you won’t have much to say within that short amount of time, still they both knew that she meant his secret identity. The world would love to know, she would love to know.

Superman moved closer grinning widely at the woman standing in front of him who was still the young girl who represented Smallville. He took her hand and asked, “Anything specific you wanna know?”

“I think we both know what I wanna know.” She chuckled, smiling sweetly at the man standing in front of her, “Smallville, the family and your travels? It only means one thing…”

“..you figured it out? You have an idea of who I can be.”

“Well the glasses don’t help you very much and I've seen you within and without them.”


He let out a laugh with a mixture of a sigh that he didn’t realize he was holding back nodding. “Are you mad?”

“I kinda had suspicion and I understand why you hide your identity from me.” She smiled nodding.

“Good..I really like you Miss Lane.”

“And so do I, Clark...how about you prove it to me?”


He knew what she meant, chuckling gently cupping her face with one hand looking into her eyes. Kindly but quickly locking lips were her. She smiled into the kiss, wrapping an arm around his middle moving away touching her lip letting out a deep breath.

“I would have to add, Superman being a great kisser on that list of things to say in my article.” She said laughing giving the warmest smile.

He laughed and shook his head, “I don’t think you should add that to the list, maybe keep it between us.”

“You're right, the holidays are coming up and it says we head over to Smallville for the weekend..?”

“Ma and Pa would be happy to see you. The fair will also be open, so we can have fun like old times.”


The two smiled laughing, continuing their discussion making sure the article for tomorrow will end up turning out well. The next day the article was published in the Daily Planet newspaper and website for the whole world to see as they keep their relationship under the profile of casual dates, working on projects together and everything they used to just with a touch of romance added to the table.


That leads us here, driving up the Kent Farm dressed in casual flannel, brown jackets and having the radio playing to the highest volume possible. Arriving at the farm was pure bliss as Martha Kent greeted them with bone crushing hugs, returning back inside the childhood home that they used to share secrets, doing homework, play games and even had their graduation party was like a full blast of memories moved past them.

Clark and Johnthan hung up the Christmas lights outside while Lisa and Martha made treats while friends came to visit. Giving a boost on the latter putting the star on the tree as music surrounds the house like an old fashion fairytale.

Even learning the tips and tricks that Martha and Johnthan used all those years ago to wrap Clark’s presents so he doesn’t get a glimpse of what gift is hiding underneath the wrapping paper while joking about past Christmas stories when they were younger. It was pure bliss, even sneaking a kiss or two underneath the mistletoe during christmas parties without any of their friends or family teasing them later. So it's sweetly to say, this holiday season in Smallville was as lovely as it can be.


And that's the last short story for this Christmas season. So what did you think?

Tell me down below in the comments. Remember to like and share!

Anyway's ciao for now!

16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page