top of page

A Twist In Gender Roles (Gender Swap AU)

It was a nice day, Ava was doing an afternoon patrol dressed as Navy Night on top of a rooftop, the usual. She got a text from Oliver who said he would be running late...again.


All of a sudden, a blur ran past her. A red and white blur...she recognized that blur anywhere, Noah! Causing her to jump off the rooftop trying her best to catch up to him. But he was just too fast…


That was when she heard sirens coming down the street, prompting her to take her motorcycle, driving off towards the crime scene.


Once Ava arrived, she was automatically face to face with a man and woman in masked costumes. The man was taken down within a matter of minutes since Oliver, along with the blur showed up, knocking him out.

The masked woman took the blaster from the guy’s hands, blasting Ava onto the ground but Ava got up again kicking her to the curb. Ava didn’t hesitate to remove the masks off him as Oliver took pictures.


Then in came Daniel and Sam with their guns and cuffs in hand. Sam bent down to cuff the man. The man woke up again, trying to blast Sam, causing him to get a punch to the face instead of handcuffs.

Ava smirked at him, deeping her voice and said, “Well that took you long enough…?”

“Well you try chasing down some criminals from up the street, princess.” Daniel scoffed, bending down cuffing the certain criminals at hand.

“Ha, I guess you got a point.”

“Wait, why is your voice deeper? Girl, are you getting sick?”


Ava slightly motioned to the blur, since Noah only knows her as the dark shadow chick from high school. Last time they saw each other was senior year of high school. So he doesn’t know that she’s Navy Night.


That was when Ava started to feel dizzy, about to faint as the blur raced towards her, Noah caught her in his arms, trying to wake her. Nothing. Apparently the blasts are starting to take effect, Oliver wondered.


Ava woke up to the whispers and music playing in the background. She groaned softly as she felt a slight pounding in her head. Ava ran a hand over a face but stopped midway, her hands looked...male!

She internally screamed, grabbing the nearest mirror and saw her face. She was...pretty good-looking. Short messy hair, dark chocolate eyes, a bit of a furrowed brow, and nice jawline too. If she had to be honest she looked like her Dad in college with her mother's wavy hair.


Within a few minutes, Scott, Tony, Sam and Oliver came in rushing but stopped in complete silence, at how Ava was analyzing herself. Then they finally met with the reaction they were waiting for.


Ava aggressively placed the mirror on her lap staring everyone dead in the eye and said, “Anyone wanna explain what happened to me?! Hm? Sam? Oliver?”


Tony took a deep breath and said, “Well, sweetheart, uh...Scott, help.”

Stacy rolled his eyes saying, “You got blasted with some kinda ray which turned you into a guy. But don’t worry, it will only last a week or so.”


Ava heard a light laughter coming from her boyfriend as she whipped her head around to face him, saying, “What’s funny Sammy?! Look at me! Your girlfriend just turned into your boyfriend-if that makes any sense…?”

“I’m sorry baby, it’s that I never imagine that I would see you like this...it’s kinda weird but funny at the same time.” Sam said apologizing for his laughter crossing his arms.

“There’s nothing funny about this?!”


Oliver started to burst into laughter at his partner being turned into a guy and Sam joined him. Ava pouted at them and it didn’t go unnoticed. Sam walked up to her wrapping his arm around her shoulder, kissing her forehead.


“Hey, hey, if I had to be honest baby; you’re kinda hot. And that’s coming from someone who played wingman for his own brother.” Sam told her.


Ava stood up looking down at her body, she had a six pack but she was still short. Around 5’9 give or take. Scott giggled softly as Ava and Tony mocked him for them being short. Tony was 5’11 give or take, so he understood his daughter-well in this case son issue. Sam and Scott smirk at them.


Ava ran into her parents room to find some underwear, jeans and a graphic shirt but Tony stopped her. He explained that she needed a shower and a new change of clothes. Along well a new identity.

After taking a long-well needed shower, Ava sneaked into her parents and found clothing laid out for her on the bed. A pair of sweatpants, AC-DC t-shirt and a gray sweater. Not bad but if ‘I’m going to be a guy for a week, I need a few outfits’, Ava thought to herself.



After a 20 minute or less, Ava walked out wearing the whole outfit that was laid out for her with her hair nicely pulled back.

Daniel walked past her but stopped, doing a double take. His jaw slightly dropped as a smirk appeared on his face and said, “Well, hi, I haven’t seen you before. I’m Daniel, and you are?”

Ava chuckled at him deciding to play along, “ Av-Andrew.”

“Well Andrew, what brings you here?”

“I’m here to see Mr. Steel and Mr. Woods for a casework.”

“Oh really? Well which Woods? Cause I’m Daniel Woods.”

“More like Samuel Woods.”

“You're sure, you weren’t instructed to meet me instead…?”


That was Sam came in from behind Daniel laughing up a storm shouting, “Dude! She’s messing with you! That’s Ava. She was turned into a guy.”

“Really? Damn you look hot.” Daniel said looking at Ava in shock.

“My brother’s right. You look good…but we need to give a new identity Av.”

“Oh yeah, your name should be Alex or Avan.”


They followed Sam into Tony’s workshop trying to get a new identity. Sam suggested a name like Austin or Andrew with the age of 26 while Daniel just kept staring at Ava’s body.


Ava tried getting his attention saying, “Dude! Snap out of it!”

“Huh?! What?!...sorry.” Daniel yelled, confused coming out of his trance.

“Wait, where can I work? I can’t go to my normal job looking like this...unless, I get a part time job volunteering at a hospital and a part time job as a civilian law enforcement.”

“Wow, that was quick! You came up with that on the spot!” Daniel commented, “Not a bad idea.”


Tony interpreted his daughter's conversation saying, “You sure? Ava, you need to understand what you’re doing is going to stress-”

“No, she can do it. We will keep an eye on her.” Sam said cutting Tony off.

“Okay, if you say so...Ava’s new identity is Andrew Morris, age 26. And you need a new look.”

“I got that cover Dad.” Ava told her father.


After two day of getting ready, it was her first day on the job, and Ava was at Sam’s house waiting for him to get out of the bathroom and once he did, he noticed that she was looking at herself in the mirror. Sam wrapped his arm around her, kissing her cheek.

“What’s wrong?” He asked.

“You know what’s wrong. I look like a guy, Sammy. I guess, the feeling just hit me.” She told him.

“Well, at least you're not ugly dude. Besides I love you, no matter what you look like.”

Ava smiled, turning around wrapping her arms around his middle saying, “Oh, I love you. How did I get so lucky?”

“Well it started when you ignored me at Oliver’s party, 2 years ago.”


Sam backed away putting on his jacket and noticed Ava’s nice blue scrub that she borrowed from Daniel’s boyfriend, Chase, who apparently works at the hospital she was volunteering at.


Later that day Ava arrived at the hospital and everything was going smoothly until she got knocked into someone. She looked up at him as her eyes widened in surprise. Light brown eyes staring right at her hazel ones without any hesitation, the only eye contact she hasn’t seen in years...Noah Allen.


Noah tried to help her up and said, “Oh my god, I’m so sorry, I wasn’t looking where I was going and I-”

“Hey, it’s okay. No broken bones or anything, right?” Ava said as Andrew, smiling.

“Yeah, I guess you're right. Wait, I haven’t seen you here before, are you new?”

“Uhh yeah. I’m volunteering here, are you a doctor here or something?”

“No, no, my dad works here. I usually visit him once a week.”

“Cool, I have to get back to work now.”


As Ava tried to walk away, Noah stopped her as he yelled, “Wait, I didn’t get your name!”

“You don’t need to, dude! I’m only working here for a day!” Ava yelled back sounding kind of rude.

“Well, I’m Noah by the way!”

“Good to know!”


She walked around and found Chase in the break room looking slightly in shock. Chase noticed the second she sat down next to him.

“Ok, what did you do?” Chase asked, looking at a magazine.

“I just saw my ex boyfriend from high school and acted rude towards him.” She replied leaning back into the couch.

“Who is he? Do I need to hurt him?!”

“No! His name is Noah and his dad is a doctor here, why didn’t you tell me anything?!”

“You never asked! You just said you needed a job and that’s what I did. Found you a job. Besides he’s only here once a week...You’ll live!”



The next two day Ava was working at the police station Sam and Daniel’s work at. Daniel told Ava to bring a stack of cases to the CSI upstairs. So she did as she was told.

Ava opened the door to find Noah sitting there in his desk working on another case. ‘Oh come on!’ She thought to herself in utter shock.


Noah noticed her-him and said, “Well, if it's Mr. no name. Come in, I didn’t realize you worked here too.”

“Yeah, I’m a part time civilian law enforcement from the Bronx. My captain transferred me here yesterday.” She told him clearly lying but he brought it.

“Well, who is the officer you have to work with?”

“Officer Woods.”

“Really? That’s uh, nice.”


Ava felt offended by his tone and said, “Is there a problem? Officer Woods seems nice and very good at his job.”

“Oh, he is. He’s just always out working and his brother is kinda annoying, to say the least.” Noah said as he walked away from his desk.

“I’m sorry, are you jealous of an officer? Last time I checked CSI’s work just as hard.”

“No! Of course not, it’s that he’s-”

“Hotter than you? Cause dude, it’s a all time low.’’

“No, man-he’s just-I don’t know. Change of subject, you know, you sound a lot like someone I met in high school.”

“Really? Who?”

“It’s stupid, you sound like Tony Steel kid.”

“The billionaire’s kid? Which one, the son or the daughter?”

“No, not his son Ethan. The daughter, Ava. You met her?”

“...yeah, at a charity event. She’s nice and a great catch.”

“Yeah I-”


Noah was cut off by the door opening to reveal Officer Samuel Woods himself, who walked into the room putting his hand on Ava’s shoulder, in an affectionate sorta way.


“Uh, Av-Andrew, you're taking a long time up here. Is everything alright?” Sam said, almost saying Ava’s name in front of Noah.

“Oh, that’s your name, Andrew. Okay.” Noah said finally getting the name of the guy he met two days ago.

“Yeah, his name is Andrew. Is something wrong, Allen? I mean Noah.”

“No, your new partner and I are just having little chat.”

“Okay, Andrew come on, I have some work for you to do.”


Once they arrived at Sam’s office, he asked, “What the hell happened back there?”

“Nothing. Noah and I had a little chat about workers here. He asked who I was working with him and the second I told him, he sounded...off.” Ava trying to explain.

“Yeah, I picked up on that. Did you two meet before?”

“...when I was working at the hospital, he bumped into me. I didn’t have time to tell him my name.”

“Didn’t have time or you just didn’t tell him?”

“I didn’t tell him. I didn’t think it mattered much, if I did or not.”


Ava could tell something was off with Sam, so she asked, “Is there something I should know about…? You seem upset.”

“No, baby, it’s that he looked annoyed at you and me…? I just don’t get it.” Sam told her.

“Well, we don’t have to worry about it right now.”



Later that day Sam clocked out before Ava and told her he will meet her at home. Everything was silent until there was a knock at the door.

“Come in!” Ava shouted from the desk.

“Wow, you're alone. I didn’t think you would be, with you being close to Officer Woods.” Noah said as he walked in, causing Ava’s eyes to slightly widen.

“Yes, I am. Is there anything I could do for you, Noah?”

“Yeah, actually. We started out on the wrong foot, I’m sorry-”

“-Well, apology accepted.”

“You didn’t let me finish, I was thinking we could hang out, maybe I could take you out to dinner?”


Ava took that as if Noah was asking her-him out on a date. She understood, dinner was just dinner but she wasn’t up to it. Just then, the craziest thing popped up in Ava’s head as she asked herself, ‘Is Noah bi now? Did I turn Noah gay? Or is this just a simple hang out?’.


Ava decided to play it safe and say, “Mr. Allen, I’m flattered but I don’t have the time to go out, matter of fact dinner.”

“You sure or is there someone at home waiting for you?” He asked.

“...uh actually there is. I can’t say who but there’s someone special to me, you know?”

“Yeah. I get it besides you have to get back to work anyways. Maybe some other time…?”

“Yeah, maybe some other time.”


When Ava arrived at Sam's place, she immediately sat down on the couch sounding just as stressed as she could be. Sam walked in with two water bottles sitting down next to her, softly capturing her lips.

Sam pulled away saying, “Yeah, that was kinda weird but intriguing.”

“Very odd but interesting-matter of fact, intriguing at best.” Ava replied smiling at Sam’s comment.


Ava laughed as Sam joined her in that laughter. If Sam has to be honest, it felt weird that his girlfriend became his boyfriend instead for a week. but somehow he found it interesting since he was able to give Ava the t-shirts and flannels he doesn’t wear anymore.


“But you know what’s the good thing?” Ava asked.

“And what’s that?” Sam questioned taking a sip of water.

“This will be over in a week.”


So what did you think? Did you like it? What would you do if you turned into a guy for a week?

Part 2 is coming soon, so stay turned! Remember to comment and share with your friends!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page